“Belle Meade” translates to mean beautiful meadow in old English and French. Founded in 1807 by John Harding, the property began with just a single log cabin and 250 acres. The estate quickly grew to become a 5,400 acre thoroughbred horse farm complete with a Greek Revival Mansion, deer park, train station, and rock quarry which supported five generations of owners, their servants, and enslaved workers. Today, Belle Meade Plantation, which has a rich history, retains 34 acres of its original property and several outbuildings, including the Mansion and original homestead. Today’s site functions as an educational resource dedicated to the preservation of Tennessee’s Victorian architecture, history, and equestrian history. Belle Meade Plantation is open daily from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., with some exceptions, including Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Eve, Christmas Day, and New Year’s Day. Visitors can enjoy tours, educational outreach programs, wine tastings, dining, weddings, shopping, and other events, knowing that their partonage supports the educational mission of the Belle Meade Plantation.